top of page

C0-0RD flares

​

Nothing in your 2015 summer wardrobe reveals more Seventies vintage appeal than fabulous flares. Designer brands like House of Holland, Balmain, Saint Laurent or Celine are trying to persuade us that flares are back for ss '15 and I must say they GOT ME!

Ironically considering how impractical flares are(anyone who has ever worn flares with flats in the rain will know what I mean haha), they were first created for sailors at the turn of the 19th century. This was apparently because it was easier to grab them when they fell overboard..hmm would love to see that situation really :D. Then they were adopted by Sixties icons such as Mick Jagger, Jimi Hendrix, Twiggy and others who brought us to first way of wearing flares.

There are so many styles of flares out there...denim, smart, casual, eveningy, low waist, high waist..but what I find most diffucult about flares is WHAT SHOES TO WEAR! I guess it depends on the length of your flares, but gladiator sandals in the summer or a natural colour wedge for a decidedly Sixties-Seventies feel would do. When going for a smart look any skinny heel will be okay and Converse will work too and are much easier on the feet (they work with everythingggg!)

..definitely leave your ballerinas at home!

Pics by PETER HIVES

I'm wearing:

wide leg flares - Asos

off shoulder top - Asos

fedora hat - Asos

black heels - Asos (link in a previous post here)

3 row cage ring - Orelia

wishbone necklace - Orelia

fringe bag - Monki/old

ring attached bracelet - Natinstablog (get here)

Inspirations:

Flares are not an easy pick and even tho

I love my today's look, I'll stick

to my skinnies I must say :P

Love,

NAT xxx

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page